Done bucket behaviour #545

Open
opened 7 months ago by SteveDinn · 7 comments

Few things I noticed about the "Done" bucket in KanBan mode:

  • Dragging an item out of the "Done" bucket should un-set its "doneness".
  • You shouldn't be able to add a new task directly to the "Done" bucket. What would be the point?
  • When intially marking a bucket as the "Done" bucket, it should mark all the tasks currently in it as done. A warning dialog might be prudent here.

Finally, a kind of unrelated item I found while verifying the above items:

  • Setting an item to 100% complete should make it "Done".
Few things I noticed about the "Done" bucket in KanBan mode: * Dragging an item out of the "Done" bucket should un-set its "doneness". * You shouldn't be able to add a new task directly to the "Done" bucket. What would be the point? * When intially marking a bucket as the "Done" bucket, it should mark all the tasks currently in it as done. A warning dialog might be prudent here. Finally, a kind of unrelated item I found while verifying the above items: * Setting an item to 100% complete should make it "Done".
Poster

There was another condition, but I couldn't remember it until now:

  • Marking an item as "not done" should move it out of the "Done" bucket -- Perhaps back to the default bucket.
    Is history kept for these tasks? Perhaps it could be moved to the bucket it was in before it was moved to the "Done" bucket.
There was another condition, but I couldn't remember it until now: * Marking an item as "not done" should move it out of the "Done" bucket -- Perhaps back to the default bucket. Is history kept for these tasks? Perhaps it could be moved to the bucket it was in before it was moved to the "Done" bucket.
Owner

Dragging an item out of the "Done" bucket should un-set its "doneness".

Agreed, that sounds like a bug.

You shouldn't be able to add a new task directly to the "Done" bucket. What would be the point?

TBH, I did not consider that yet. Maybe to keep track of tasks you already did but forgot to add to the list before starting them? I don't know if that'd make sense.

Setting an item to 100% complete should make it "Done".

Although edge-casey, I think that would make sense.

Is history kept for these tasks? Perhaps it could be moved to the bucket it was in before it was moved to the "Done" bucket.

The history is not kept, so that wouldn't work. It could be something to think of if the history is persisted at some point in the future though.

> Dragging an item out of the "Done" bucket should un-set its "doneness". Agreed, that sounds like a bug. > You shouldn't be able to add a new task directly to the "Done" bucket. What would be the point? TBH, I did not consider that yet. Maybe to keep track of tasks you already did but forgot to add to the list before starting them? I don't know if that'd make sense. > Setting an item to 100% complete should make it "Done". Although edge-casey, I think that would make sense. > Is history kept for these tasks? Perhaps it could be moved to the bucket it was in before it was moved to the "Done" bucket. The history is not kept, so that wouldn't work. It could be something to think of if the history is persisted at some point in the future though.
Poster

If there is no history for the task, then I guess you could move it back to the default (first) bucket.

If there is no history for the task, then I guess you could move it back to the default (first) bucket.
konrad added the
kind/feature
label 6 months ago

In kanban is there not a movement from left to right through the buckets with done being rightmost? (At least for ltr languages.)

Placing it in the next bucket left would make more sense to me than the first bucket.

Maybe that just means moving it out of 'Done' should be left to the user...

In kanban is there not a movement from left to right through the buckets with done being rightmost? (At least for ltr languages.) Placing it in the next bucket left would make more sense to me than the first bucket. Maybe that just means moving it out of 'Done' should be left to the user...
Owner

Maybe that just means moving it out of 'Done' should be left to the user...

I'd agree, but then what should happen when the user "undoes" the task for example from the task detail view?

> Maybe that just means moving it out of 'Done' should be left to the user... I'd agree, but then what should happen when the user "undoes" the task for example from the task detail view?

Maybe that just means moving it out of 'Done' should be left to the user...

I'd agree, but then what should happen when the user "undoes" the task for example from the task detail view?

Not entirely clear to me why using the detail view would make a difference. (I still think it would make most sense to move them to the next bucket left.)

> > Maybe that just means moving it out of 'Done' should be left to the user... > > I'd agree, but then what should happen when the user "undoes" the task for example from the task detail view? Not entirely clear to me why using the detail view would make a difference. (I still think it would make most sense to move them to the next bucket left.)
Owner

If you'd only move them to the next bucket left then yeah, the detail view wouldn't make a difference.

If you'd only move them to the next bucket left then yeah, the detail view wouldn't make a difference.
Sign in to join this conversation.
No Milestone
No Assignees
3 Participants
Notifications
Due Date

No due date set.

Dependencies

This issue currently doesn't have any dependencies.

Loading…
There is no content yet.