auto-save for a task description sometimes moves the cursor back to the start of the textbox #884

Open
opened 3 months ago by figwinterberry · 2 comments

I am using v0.18.1 of both the frontend and the backend.

When editing a task's description in either Safari v13.1.2 (macos High Sierra) or Chrome 94 (latest), I sometimes experience annoying behaviour with the auto-save feature. When the autosave completes, it will move the text cursor to the start of the textbox. This means when I continue typing, the text appears to be at the front. Sometimes the autosave even gets into a loop, where it switches between text I have typed at the start of the description and where I was typing beforehand.

the problem seems more likely to occur if I start typing while the auto-save is in progress.

It would be great if there was an option in the user settings to disable this feature. I don't have any issues when editing comments, as they don't have the auto-save functionality.

I am using v0.18.1 of both the frontend and the backend. When editing a task's description in either Safari v13.1.2 (macos High Sierra) or Chrome 94 (latest), I sometimes experience annoying behaviour with the auto-save feature. When the autosave completes, it will move the text cursor to the start of the textbox. This means when I continue typing, the text appears to be at the front. Sometimes the autosave even gets into a loop, where it switches between text I have typed at the start of the description and where I was typing beforehand. the problem seems more likely to occur if I start typing while the auto-save is in progress. It would be great if there was an option in the user settings to disable this feature. I don't have any issues when editing comments, as they don't have the auto-save functionality.
Owner

I wouldn't even call that a feature, thats a bug.

Just to be sure, that only happens when editing the task description?

We plan to replace the editor in general with something else (#781) which will hopefully make that problem go away.

I wouldn't even call that a feature, thats a bug. Just to be sure, that only happens when editing the task description? We plan to replace the editor in general with something else (#781) which will hopefully make that problem go away.
konrad added the
kind/bug
label 3 months ago

Yes, definitely a bug. And yes, I've only seen this behaviour when editing task description, due to auto-save.

Yes, definitely a bug. And yes, I've only seen this behaviour when editing task description, due to auto-save.
Sign in to join this conversation.
No Milestone
No Assignees
2 Participants
Notifications
Due Date

No due date set.

Dependencies

This issue currently doesn't have any dependencies.

Loading…
There is no content yet.